Robert Plant and Alison Krauss to reunite for sophomore album


Their Grammy-sweeping debut came out nearly fourteen years ago.

Led Zeppelin frontman Robert Plant and bluegrass legend Alison Krauss have announced that they will be releasing their second collaborative album on November 19.

Raise The Roof will be out on Warner Music, and the surprise announcement finds Rock & Roll Hall of Famer Plant and 27-time Grammy-winner Krauss reuniting nearly 14 years after the historic release of their towering debut collaboration, Raising Sand. Together, the two hold a total of 35 Grammys. Krauss was, until recently, the record-holder for the woman with the most Grammys. She was ousted by Beyonce in 2021. Plant has eight Grammy Awards, six of them earned for Raising Sand. Released in 2007, the album won all six Grammy Awards for which it was nominated, and was also certified double platinum in the UK.

Like its predecessor, Raise The Roof was produced by T Bone Burnett, who worked with Plant and Krauss to expand their collaboration in thrilling new directions, accompanied by drummer Jay Bellerose, guitarists Marc Ribot, David Hidalgo, Bill Frisell, and Buddy Miller, bassists Dennis Crouch and Viktor Krauss, along with pedal steel guitarist Russ Pahl among others.

The album will also feature twelve new recordings of songs, by legends and unsung heroes like Merle Haggard, Allen Toussaint, The Everly Brothers, Anne Briggs, Geeshie Wiley, Bert Jansch and more.

It will also include an original by Plant and Burnett, called ‘High and Lonesome,’ and the classic ‘Can’t Let Go,’ written by Randy Weeks and first recorded by Lucinda Williams.

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss have shared their version of ‘Can’t Let Go’ in celebration of the announcement.

The songs selected for Raise The Roof alternately reflect deep-rooted influences and new revelations. For his part, Plant was keen to introduce the English folk traditions he has loved since adolescence, while Krauss cites hearing ‘Quattro (World Drift In)’ by the American group Calexico, as “the moment I knew we’d make another album.”

“We wanted it to move,” Krauss continued in a statement. “We brought other people in, other personalities within the band, and coming back together again in the studio brought a new intimacy to the harmonies.”

“You hear something and you go ‘Man, listen to that song, we got to sing that song!’,” Plant added. “It’s a vacation, really—the perfect place to go that you least expected to find.”

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss will tour together in 2022, with dates to be announced soon. Listen to the song and view the Raise The Roof tracklist below.

Raise The Roof Tracklist
1. Quattro (World Drifts In)
2. The Price of Love
3. Go Your Way
4. Trouble With My Lover
5. Searching for My Love
6. Can’t Let Go
7. It Don’t Bother Me
8. You Led Me to The Wrong
9. Last Kind Words Blues
10. High and Lonesome
11. Going Where the Lonely Go
12. Somebody Was Watching Over Me